Foodie Penpal May Reveal!!


What time is it? I can’t hear you!!! What time is it??!!

500x211xFPP-post1_jpg_pagespeed_ic_KYaFXoYVom

That’s right!! It’s Foodie Pen Pals May Reveal Day over at The Lean Green Bean!! I sent my package to Ashley at My Cats and I (Cooking) in Chi, so head on over there to see all the goodies I sent her and to also see what else she has been up to! She is in to healthy low-cal/low-fat foods like I am so she was so easy to buy for!

So…before I get to my reveal…let’s do a recap on the Foodie Pen Pal situation.

First….it’s always a blast!! Second….here’s the details! You receive a pen pal match on the 5th of each month, then you email your match to see what they love/hate (yours will do the same) and then mail out a box filled to the brim with foodie treats to your pen pal. You just have to do it by the 15th! On the last day of the month, everyone reveals what goodies they received. You get a different match each month so you are always getting an opportunity to meet new people, find new blogs and try foods that you may just not have available in your area (I have found that New Jersey has some yummy stuff that we don’t have here in Missouri).

My pen pal was Mary at 3D Dinners (my April & May Penpals both ended up being from New Jersey (weird J ). She is newly married (Congrats!!).  Also…head on over to her page and check it out!  Lots of great recipes!!  Here is what she got me:

Bob’s Red Mill Organic Polenta (a.k.a. corn grits): she said that this is one of her favorite side dishes. I have never tried this before but was excited to try it! I made just how she recommended. Made the polenta and then stirred in 1 cup of frozen corn and honey to taste…..OH…MY…GOODNESS!!! Delightful!! Really enjoyed it and can’t wait to make it again J Made for a great dinner side dish although I could have just eaten this and this alone.

IMG_20130531_082127

Simply Organic Garlic Salt: She said that she doesn’t usually add salt to dishes but if she has to then she chooses garlic salt instead. This one is great because it’s organic and is also a mixture of sea salt and garlic which are, by far, two of my favorite things. I have been using this a lot! It’s amazing just sprinkled on my spinach salads that I bring for work.

IMG_20130531_082248

Aunt Gussie’s Spelt Oatmeal Cookies: Wasn’t sure I would like these at first because they are a crunchy cookie and I’m partial to the soft ones but after devouring about 6 in one sitting, I’ve changed my mind! For starters, they are sugar-free which is amazing in itself because they taste sooo good! And there are only a few ingredients…all of which are recognizable and readable 🙂  Find out here about Spelt (It is a great source of fiber with high water solubility. This allows its nutrients to be more easily absorbed than common wheat) and Maltitol (which is the all-natural sweetener that makes these cookies taste so good!). I’m getting a little sad that these are almost gone though….may have to do some investigating to see if I can find them around these parts.

IMG_20130531_082148

Indie Candy Sweet Heart Gummies: Okay…I’m not going to lie…I’m kind of a fruit snack/gummy connoisseur! I love them and have been known to eat 3-4 packs at a time (I know! I’m sooo bad!). These were nothing short of amazing! They were a Wild Cherry flavor and they did not disappoint. The thing I liked about them the most is that all the ingredients were recognizable and on the plus side, they are gluten-free and allergy-friendly. And EVEN BETTER…..NO ARTIFICIAL COLORS, FLAVORS OR PRESERVATIVES! Love that part!   Sorry…no picture here…they didn’t last long enough for a pic 🙂

Kind Bar: Okay…I’ve gone on record saying that these are, by far, one of my favorite snacks. This one didn’t last very long…I literally ate it as I looked through the rest of the box once I received it.  Yummmers!!!!

IMG_20130531_082057

Kind Grains: This was awesome to get because it was a sample size and it allowed me to try it out before purchasing a larger bag! Although…I should have known I would love it! I just love the KIND brand…everything I’ve had from them has been amazing…Keep up the good work KIND company 😉

IMG_20130531_082211

Mary also was kind enough to send me a recipe to try. She sent Chinese Spicy Chicken! I haven’t tried it yet but I’m going to be this weekend. I’m even going to get to add some of my Simply Organic Garlic Salt to the recipe!! Double YAY!!

So that’s it! Those are my goodies! Mary did an amazing job picking stuff out for me! She did not disappoint!

Alright….now head on over to The Lean Green Bean and see what everyone else got in the goodie boxes and what the heck…go ahead and join up with us and see what all the fuss is about! I promise…you will have tons of fun and get some amazing snacks in the process!

7 thoughts on “Foodie Penpal May Reveal!!

  1. Ashley

    What a great package you received! I love Kind bars, my favorite being an apple cinnamon that tastes like apple pie in a bar. For some reason they only sell it at Starbucks! I love polenta and will definitely have to try it the recommended way here. I have another recipe for it that I love, which I’ll have to email to you after finding it. Thanks again for the great package you sent me! I’m still happily eating my way through it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment